Board of Directors

Guiding the Urban League of Middle Tennessee and advancing our mission 

to provide direct services that impact and improve the lives of thousands in underserved communities across Middle Tennessee.

Reginald Gardner


Board Chair
Executive Director, Economic Development


Nashville State Community College




Manuch Akbari


Tennessee State University

Valinda Burks Headshot 2018.jpg

Valinda Burks


State Farm

Final 4x5 Julian Flournoy.jpg

Julian Flournoy


Vice President Financial

Center Manager III
Fifth Third Bank 

Hon. Brenda Gilmore


State Senator

Tennessee General Assembly

download (2).jpeg

Shawn Hurley


Regional Vice President
Enterprise Holding

Derek Jones


Global EHS Director Amazon GSF and Retail

Steve Jones

Operations Vice President
Messer Constructions, Company

Catona Love


Sr. Human Resources Director
Comcast Inc., Big South Region | Tennessee Area

Bishop Jerry L. Maynard


Senior Pastor 
Cathedral of Praise

Church of God in Christ

Cortney McKibben


Manager/Energy Right for B&I

Tennessee Valley Authority

Burley Nelson


Senior Vice-President

Human Resources

Acceptance Insurance

Dr. Michael T. Nettles


Senior Vice-President


Karolyn Perry



Waller Law

Julia Settles


Project Manager

Leidos, Inc. 

Davita Taylor


Chief Procurement Officer

Metropolitan Nashville

Airport Authority

Brandon K. Thompkins



Smile Direct Club

Aron Thompson


Sr. Project Manager


Moody Nolan 

Grant Winrow


Special Assistant

to the President

Tennessee State University